Custom structs for constant buffers

Editor
Feb 4, 2013 at 10:54 PM
Hello,

I'm fairly new to DirectX 11 (I come from a DX 9 background), so to my surprise, things have changed quite a bit. I ran across your engine while researching your book (Practical Render). I've poked through the code quite a bit of it, but one thing keeps bugging me. I notice that you don't create any custom structs for representing constant buffers in shader files. All of the DirectX 11 examples I've run across online that demonstrate using constant buffers create custom structs to represent them in code. Then call UpdateSubResource to send everything to the GPU. Is the way you're updating the parameters from the constant buffers a best practice in your engine? I'm in the process of updating my own game engine to support DirectX 11 and these constant buffers have me stumped on how to wrap them with platform independent classes.

Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Coordinator
Feb 5, 2013 at 1:36 AM
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the engine and the book. The way that I handle the constant buffers is more for general purpose usage. The engine is intended to be able to easily incorporate new shader files with a minimum of effort, and thus I tend to use the elementary pieces in the building of the contents of a constant buffer.