Can't get project to compile

Apr 28, 2013 at 5:46 AM
I'm having trouble getting the project to work as I'm new to lua and Visual studio.

But, in solution explorer for hieorglyph3 I did \SDK\Include and \Dependencies\DirectXTK\Inc
and for libs we have \SDK\Library\Debug.

But, when I run I get build errors.

I don't know what to do. Do I have to do it for all files in solution explorer? from AmbientOcclusion to WaterSimulation.

I have Directx SDK linked for all projects.
Coordinator
Apr 28, 2013 at 12:41 PM
Hi Daniel,

When you download the source code for Hieroglyph3, all of the paths and relative links from each sub-project should already be set properly to let you compile. You should be able to open the Hieroglyph3.sln file, set the startup project of your choosing, and then compile and run. So if you have already modified a bunch of settings, it may be better to start over and grab a fresh copy of the code base.

Which operating system version and visual studio version are you using? You should be running either Win7 or Win8 (Vista should work too, but I haven't tried it) with VS2012. When VS2012 installs, it also installs the Windows 8 SDK - which already includes all of the Direct3D headers and libraries that are needed for Hieroglyph. This means that you wouldn't need to install the standalone DXSDK anymore, and you also don't need to manually set the paths to the include/library directories!
Apr 28, 2013 at 1:51 PM
Edited Apr 28, 2013 at 1:52 PM
I downloaded a new copy and open the Hieroglyph3.sln file. However, I can't run any of the applications. For example, in ImmediateRenderer_Desktop it can't find #include "Log.h". I assumed I did the linking wrong.

I use windows 7 home premium and Microsoft Visual Studio Express 2012 for Windows Desktop.
Coordinator
Apr 28, 2013 at 2:08 PM
You don't have to do any linking or manual settings - it should all be ready out of the box. Which source file is saying that it can't find that include file?