Scene Manager?

May 15, 2013 at 7:14 PM
Hi,
Im kind of new to C++ and this engine (i like beans), so how would i solve the problem of adding an actor to the scene from another class?

Should i make the m_pScene public?
Should i make the Actor public so i can add it from the main class?
Should i create another class to manage this stuff?
May 15, 2013 at 7:24 PM
Edited May 15, 2013 at 7:27 PM
give the "another class" a reference to the scene (through the constructor). Then you can add an actor to the scene from it.

something like this is common:
class AnotherClass {
     AnotherClass(Scene scene) {
           _scene = scene;
     }
}
In the main something like this:
Scene scene = new Scene();
AnotherClass anotherClass = new AnotherClass(scene);
Additional you can ask google -> "what is a factory pattern". Its a nice concept of doing this.

I think this is more a coding question and less a question of the engine.
May 17, 2013 at 5:57 PM
Hi, I'm not sure if using a singleton here is evil?
class SceneMgr
{
    public:
        static Glyph3::Scene* get();

private:

SceneMgr() {};                 
        SceneMgr(SceneMgr const&);            
        void operator=(SceneMgr const&);
};
Also, i get this linker error:
App.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "public: static class Glyph3::Scene * __cdecl SceneMgr::get(void)" (?get@SceneMgr@@SAPAVScene@Glyph3@@XZ) referenced in function "public: virtual void __thiscall App::Initialize(void)" (?Initialize@App@@UAEXXZ)
Coordinator
May 18, 2013 at 1:51 PM
There isn't a need to make it a singleton, is there? What if you have an application where you want more than one scene? I meant to ask this earlier too - what operations do you want to do with your SceneMgr class? If it is managing a scene, then the methods of the Scene class should already be doing this. Or did you have something else in mind?